Simone Aughterlony & Michael Günzburger

Emergent Vestiges

A queer and incandescent collection of dust-like particles co-habitat and confederate with companion fluids of different viscosity and other desirable bodies: from dirt to colourful pigments, from lubricant to fixative, from paper to skin. Simone and Michael fashion a temporary printing station within Dirt: an Apparatus that eschews the production of printed objects but rather pays close attention to the qualities of materials, the marks they make and the ways in which this process of intra-action is articulated through intimacies between bodies. They are curious about how things made dirty retain their allure. The happenstance of dirt transmission as well as the (un)conscious transposition of marks to unlikely spaces that map and score encounters between things. The potentiality and futurity of indelible traces as a response to the so-called ephemerality of performance. Touch and the surplus of touching – the narratives we form through touch, being touched and touching. Embracing the impossibility of avoiding traces when moving in particle covered space and observing the emergent readings that surface through this.

Station visit / Open House: Invitation to observe our digging into these questions, participate in the practice or discuss.

Simone Aughterlony is an independent artist based in Berlin and Zurich where she works in collaboration with others at the frontiers of dance and performance art. Her practice is committed to qualities that affirm the transformative potential of bodies and all things engaged in choreographic thought. She has a vested interest in the scope of humour and the mystery of desire to feed the political affects of performance.

Michael Günzburger’s work revolves around drawing and craft. From these starting points works are made in dialogue with other artists and academics that go way beyond the boundaries of visual art. In recent years his work has been marked by a deepening preoccupation with the impression or print which he describes as the collision of two bodies.

His works are exhibited in the Kunsthaus Zürich and internationally in galleries in New York, Mexico, Paris and elsewhere.

Friday, 26 June 2015 
6 pm — open house

Residency: 21 June till 11 July 2015

Simone Aughterlony & Michael Günzburger

Emergent Vestiges

Von Staubpartikeln zu leuchtenden Farbpigmenten, vom Schmiermittel zum Fixiermittel, vom Papier bis zur Haut – für DRECK: EIN APPARAT haben Simone und Michael eine temporäre Druck-Station entworfen, die der Produktion von gedruckten Objekten entgeht und eher den Materialien Aufmerksamkeit widmet, den Spuren, die sie hinterlassen und der Art, wie dieser Prozess der Intra-Aktion sich in der Intimität zwischen den Körpern ereignet. Sie sind neugierig, wie Dinge, die dreckig gemacht wurden, ihren Reiz behalten. Auf die Zufälligkeit der Übertragung von Dreck ebenso wie der (un)bewusste Austausch von Spuren an nwahrscheinliche Orte, die die Begegnung zwischen Dingen kartografieren und bewerten. Auf das Potenzial und die Zukünftigkeit von unlöschbaren Zeichen als eine Antwort auf die sogenannte Flüchtigkeit von Performance. Auf Berührung und der Überschuss von Berührung – die Narrative, die wir durch berühren formen, berührt werden und Berührung. Sie machen sich die Unmöglichkeit, keine Spuren zu hinterlassen, wenn man sich in einem von Partikeln bedeckten Raum bewegt, zueigen und beobachten die erscheinenden Lektüren, die dadurch an die Oberfläche treten.

Besuch der Station / Open House: Einladung, unsere Grabungen in diesen Fragen zu beobachten, zur Teilnahme an der Praxis oder zur Diskussion.

Simone Aughterlony ist freischaffende Künstlerin, lebt in Berlin und Zürich und arbeitet gemeinsam mit anderen im Grenzbereich von Tanz und Performancekunst. Im Mittelpunkt ihres Schaffens steht das transformative Potenzial des Körpers sowie sämtlicher Aspekte der choreografischen Arbeit. Ihr Augenmerk gilt insbesondere der Möglichkeit der politischen Aufladung choreografischer Arbeiten durch Humor und die geheimnisvolle Kraft des Begehrens.

Michael Günzburgers Arbeit kreist um Zeichnungen und Handwerk. Ausgehend davon entstehen Arbeiten im Dialog mit anderen Künsten und Wissenschaften, die weit über den Bereich der bildenden Kunst hinausweisen. Prägend für seine Arbeit in den letzten Jahren ist die vertiefte Auseinandersetzung mit dem Drucken, das er als Kollision von zwei Körpern beschreibt.

Seine Arbeiten wurden international gezeigt, u. a. im Kunsthaus Zürich und
in Galerien in New York, Mexico und Paris.

Freitag, 26. Juni 2015
18:00 Uhr — OPEN HOUSE

Residenz: 21. Juni bis 11. Juli 2015